BodyRock Workout 1 Review

Tabata, or Not Tabata?

I had a good day on Tuesday. Ate a very filling breakfast of baked egg stuffed mushrooms, had a nice tuna salad for lunch, and felt confident for an extra hard HIIT workout.

It should be noted that I felt a little sick after this workout. Could be because our gym was 87 degrees at the time, and it could also be because this is nonstop. So if you’re looking for targeting areas and doing cardio without staying on the treadmill for a long time, THIS IS FOR YOU.

Target areas: Legs, Arms, and Abs

Regimen style: Tabata (30 sec. work, 10 sec. rest)

Gym equipment: Optional. Can substitute weights for resistance bands or heavy backpacks. Make sure to use your GymBoss Interval Timer (app available for Apple and Android for free, or buy one here)

 

Please watch the video. Click here to see a full list of the equipment she uses. Listed below the video are my notes of each exercise. If that’s not helpful to you, then just leave me a comment if you’ve tried this exercise, or if you have any suggestions for me. 🙂 Thanks, y’all!

If you want to focus on any of the target areas by themselves, just do one of the three parts and do two to three rounds.

Breakdown of routine:

Start with 30 seconds of skipping rope or other quick cardio. You will alternate each exercise with 30 seconds of whatever cardio you choose. I alternated between high knees and butt kicks because I can’t jump rope very well. Just find something that you can do for 30 seconds straight without stopping.

Part 1– Legs and Arms

  1. Spider Push Up – L&R Alternate
  2. Squat and Press- I used a 30 lb. barbell and was able to get out about 10 reps here.
  3. Weighted Lunge and Lift – Left Leg (I used the barbell for these, too)
  4. Weighted Lunge and Lift – Right Leg
  5. Squat/Tuck Jumps
  6. Push Up & 1/2 Burpee
  7. Shoulder [Sandbag] lift – L&R Alternate (I used a 10 lb Ugi ball at the gym)
  8. Weighted Overhead Abs & Shoulder Press – I used the barbell for this one. It was difficult.
  9. 1 Leg Push Up, Burpee, Jump Bag (or jump over any object you set down)
  10. Left Leg Board Weighted Step Ups – I used one of the steps at the gym and the barbell, but you could use a chair and a full backpack. Or I guess a small child.
  11.  Right Leg Board Weighted Step Ups
  12. [Sandbag] Get Ups – I used a Ugi ball but wasn’t able to do many standing upright.
  13. Clean & Press – I used a barbell, but you can use a full backpack)

REST  (I rested about 2 minutes. If you feel overheated, listen to your body and take appropriate time to recover, but don’t stop completely. Stand up and keep moving.)

Part 2– Arms

  1. V Push-ups
  2. 1/2 Burpee + 1 Push-up
  3. Push Up + 2 Mountain Climbers (slow) + Push up + 2 Spider Knees + Push up + Knee Cross-over (Please see video. This is actually pretty easy once you get a rhythm, though don’t be surprised if you can only do 2 full sets in 30 seconds)
  4. 1 Leg Push Up & Burpee
  5. Superman Push Ups – I just did a Superman lat pull here because I was getting overheated
  6. Wide Arm Push up – Jump in & out and do the pushup when your legs are WIDE (works just fine if you do wide arm push ups on your knees)
  7. Tricep Push up – Jump in & out and do the pushup when your legs are TOGETHER
  8. Plank
  9. Deadlift – L&R Alternate (I just used a barbell and did both of them together–whoops!)
  10. Push Up, L&R Row, L&R Spider Knee, L&R Side Oblique plank – Used 12 lb. weights that have flat edges so I wouldn’t do a push up from my face.
  11. Upright row – I used the barbell.
  12. Bicep curl & press – I used 12 lbs.

REST

Part 3 – Abs

  1. Sprinter (a.k.a. “Running Man” on the site)
  2. V Abs – L&R Alternate
  3. Plank & side to side jump – This is INTENSE. Make sure you don’t touch your knees to the floor!
  4. Superman + Pushups – again, just did superman lat pulls. But this exercise will give you SUCH a strong core, and you’ll instantly feel it in your obliques.
  5. 10 High Knees + 10 Spider Knee Climbers
  6. Double stretch (“Tuck”) – This is amazing. That is all.
  7. Toe Touch Abs – L&R Alternate
  8. Over-head Abs – I used the barbell. Much hurt.
  9. Oblique Planks – Left side drop
  10. Oblique Planks – Right side drop
  11.  Plank
  12. Reverse Curl
  13. Russian Twist (“Seated Oblique Twists”) – I used a 10 lb Ugi ball
  14. Crunch and Leg Extensions
  15. Straight Abs

Leave a Reply

