Starting over, now a mommy!

Well hey there.

It’s been over a year since my last post, but I’m ready to begin again! I lost momentum after my Welita passed in October 2014, and then I got pregnant in the spring of 2015 and gave birth to a beautiful little boy on January 2! He is now a little over 3 months old and I couldn’t be more in love.
me and bug

before baby

Before I knew I was pregnant. πŸ˜› Watching my macros and working out and hanging out with beautiful family.

week 29

At week 29, FINALLY really showing and super proud of my baby belly.

week 34

At week 34, really surprised that my belly could still stretch as far as it was. And secretly hoping for 2015 Tax Break Baby (no luck).

During my pregnancy, I tried to stay relatively fit. Failed the first trimester and was sick as a dog until the 2nd, where my appetite came back with a vengeance. Cravings were empanadas, all Mexican food (comfort food for me), pasta, ice cream, and lots of fruit. So…yeah. You see where I’m headed.together finally

I had a few workouts that I did during my second and third trimester. Did the very best I could. Here’s what I can share about that:

  1. Doing this Heidi Klum prenatal workout when pregnant helped. It’s kind of an all-over workout, but you go at your own pace. Did this at the end of my first trimester.
  2. I also did thisΒ “Dark Horse Willitary style” leg workout at the beginning of my second trimester. Really need to make your legs strong for carrying all that baby inside you.
  3. THIS prenatal pilates workout was AMAZING. Did this all during my second trimester in the mornings. It really helps with flexibility and is only 10 minutes. She has other 10 minute videos and you get a really into it. (And motivated because, well, she’s a gorgeous woman with a big baby belly and makes you feel like you can do ANYTHING.)
  4. By far my favorite workout was theΒ Jillian Michaels Yoga Inferno, both level 1 and level 2. I did this well into my second trimester and my third (when I still had energy). While I obviously wasn’t losing weightΒ during my pregnancy, I did find that doing these exercises (with modifications, of course) really helped me postpartum with strength and flexibility. Bonus points for balancing with a big baby belly. πŸ™‚ Nothing on my belly, no crunches, minimal intensive cardio, but plenty of work on balance and strength.

I’m sharing this right now just to say that I gained 60 pounds in my pregnancy, losing only about 30 after the baby was born and my body started to heal. Anyone who’s had a baby can tell you that the mental transition from “Oh I can have this food because I’m PREGNANT” to “I need to watch my figure” (hahahaha) doesn’t come right away. I was still wanting pizza, homemade cookies, and BLUE BELL ICE CREAM in my first month. Reason: I pushed a human out of my body. I deserve it. 😦

Now that I am 3 months postpartum, have been cleared long ago to return to exercise and other fun activities (*ahem*), I am serious about my fitness again. Starting the journey slow and steady, and maybe this time it will stick. Will be trying to do Paleo again, but I’m not going to beat myself up if I have white potatoes. :p

Leave a Reply

